Today's Date:



Weslaco Public Library
525 S Kansas
Weslaco, TX 78596
Phone: (956) 968-4533


Homework Help Available!

Monday - Thursday Friday - Saturday Sunday
1:00pm-6:30pm 1:00pm-4:30pm Closed

Our homework helpers are ready to assist you!


If you can't make it in to the library, you can still ask for assistance via telephone or E-mail.

Telephone: (956) 968-4533
E-mail: AsktheLibrarian@weslacopl.us

Homework Alert

Country Reports - www.countryreports.org
Learn about different countries!

50 States - www.50states.com
A listing of all 50 states and their capital cities.

Biography - www.biography.com
Online biographies of famous people.

Social Studies School Service - http://socialstudies.com/online.html
Help with social studies research for elementary and middle school.

Homework Spot: Math - www.homeworkspot.com/high/math
Discussions where you can find answers and ask questions about math.

Homework Spot: Reference - www.homeworkspot.com/reference/referencedesk
Find atlases, biographies, calculators and more online.

Library Spot: Grammar - www.libraryspot.com/grammarstyle.htm
Advice on correct grammar and writing styles.

------------------------------------------------------

Online Databases

TexShare Databases - www.tsl.state.tx.us/texshare/pl

Learn-A-Test - www.learnatest.com
Prepare for success with LearnATest.com's exclusive learning method, combining our proven practice tests with our unique test preparation study materials. Leading educators, top-notch career experts, and the LearnATest.com professionals give you the most effective tools possible to learn exactly what you need to know.

----------------------------------------------------------------

SAT, ACT Preparation, College Information

FAFSA - www.fafsa.ed.gov/

Quint Careers - www.quintcareers.com/teen_college.html
Job-hunting tools, post your résumé, career articles, and college planning advice.

Window On State Government - www.window.state.tx.us/scholars/schools
A listing of Texas colleges, admission requirements, and tuition costs.

50 States - www.50states.com/college/texas.htm
Search through the websites of Texas colleges, universities, and community colleges by name or even by offered majors.

ACT Test Prep - www.actstudent.org/testprep
Free practice test questions, test tips, and test descriptions for the ACT exam.

U.S. Department of Education - www.ed.gov
Information centers for financial aid, grants and contracts, policies, programs, and research and statistics.

Texas Mentor - www.texasmentor.org
Find and apply to any private school in Texas.

Apply Texas - www.applytexas.org
Research your information on every Texas Public University, plus some private and two-year schools. Complete and submit admission and scholarship applications online. Copy a completed application and use it to apply to another school.

GRE: Graduate Record Examinations Information - www.gre.org
GRE test details, register online for the GRE, and free official test preparation materials.

GradSchools.com - www.gradschools.com
Search for graduate schools and programs by subject, school, or location.

Graduate Management Admission Council - www.mba.com
Self-assessment tests for business students and articles promoting MBA. You can also register online for the GMAT.

College for Texans - www.collegefortexans.com
Advice on preparing for college, applying, and career planning for Texans.

College Board - www.collegeboard.com
Register online for the SAT and use the online preparation materials. You can even view your

American Council on Education - www.acenet.edu
The major coordinating body for all the nation's higher education institutions. ACEnet can help you search for the nearest GED testing center.

College Net - www.collegenet.com
College applications, scholarships, and a monthly contest in which you vote for the best discussions on the website and the winner gets $5,000, $3,750, $2,500, or $1,250! Not a student? Check out the candidate discussion forums, take a look at candidate profiles, and sign up for a free Voter account so you can help determine which candidates deserve scholarship money.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Encyclopedias, Almanacs, Dictionaries & Writing

Merriam-Webster Online - www.merriam-webster.com
Online search for definitions, thesaurus entries, and Word of the Day.

Roget’s II: The New Thesaurus - www.bartleby.com/62
Containing 35,000 synonyms and over 250,000 cross-references in an easy-to-use format, this thesaurus features succinct word definitions and an innovative hyperlinked category index.

Columbia Encyclopedia - http://reference.allrefer.com/encyclopedia
An online encyclopedia of information.

Librarian’s Internet Index - www.lii.org
Reviewed and trusted internet sites for information and research.

------------------------------------------------------

Literature & Writing

Young Adult Books - www.bookspot.com/youngadult.htm
Lists of suggested reading for young adults.